Clarke named to Rimington award watch list

Ben Clarke

University of Hawai’i center Ben Clarke is one of 44 players, including one of only six sophomores, named to the 2013 Rimington Award Spring Watch List.

The Rimington Award is given to the nation’s top collegiate center. The winner will be honored at Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb., on Jan. 11, 2014.

Clarke started all 12 games as a true freshman in 2012. He was one of two true freshmen nationally to start the season at center and was selected honorable mention all-MW. The Littleton, Colo., native was picked as the team’s Offensive Player of the Year.

The last UH center named to the Watch List was John Estes, who was a finalist in 2009.

Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2 million. The 14-year old award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $100 million for CF Research.

Dave Rimington, the award’s namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy’s only double winner as the nation’s finest college interior lineman.

*Courtesy of Hawai’i Athletics*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s