Quarterfinals are set in 105th Manoa Cup

O'ahu Country Club

The round of 16 finished today with great weather and a lot of exciting golf.  32nd seed Kyosuke Hara won his match over Ryan Lloyd with steady golf winning his match 5&3.  Young Shawn Lu led his match from the 2nd hole and never looked back, leading the entire match and winning 3&2 over OCC favorite, Kalena Preus.  Kyosuke will play Shawn in a match amongst friends and I am told this will be a “no holds barred” match as they are both teammates at Moanalua High School and practice together at Pearl CC very often.  They are both 14 years young!

Jared Sawada edged out Nick Ushijima 1up in his fierce match as the match changed hands 13 times and was never led by either player by more than 1 up.  Bradley Shigezawa is coming off a college division III championship win and won his close match 1 up over UH Manoa golfer Cory Oride.  Sawada will now face Shigezawa in tomorrow’s morning round.

Kyle Suppa and Todd Rego both closed out their matches 3&2 over Donny Hopoi and Brent Grant, respectively, and will face each other tomorrow.  Kyle is a freshman at Punahou High school and Todd is now the eldest in the field at 30 years old!

Seung Jae Maeng led the match from the 1st hole and kept his lead the entire match to end it at 1up over Doug Williams.  2013 Sony Open qualifier Richard Hattori won four holes straight to get 2up on the match and closed out the match on the 16th hole, 3&2 over Andy Okita.  Maeng and Hattori both have ties to Pearl CC as well and will have a great match as well.

Tomorrow will be an endurance test as the quarter final matches start from 7am and winners will play their semifinal matches at 12 noon tomorrow as well.

Round of 16
SC Match Hole
1 Kyosuke Hara 5 and 3 Ryan Kalani Lloyd F
2 Kalena Preus 3 and 2 Shawn Lu F
3 Jared Sawada 1 up Nick Ushijima F
4 Bradley Shigezawa 1 up Cory Oride F
5 Kyle Suppa 3 and 2 Donny J Hopoi F
6 Brent Grant 3 and 2 Todd Rego F
7 Sj Maeng 1 up Doug Williams F
8 Andy Okita 3 and 2 Richard Hattori F


SC Match Hole
1 Kyosuke Hara Shawn Lu 7:00 am
2 Jared Sawada Bradley Shigezawa 7:07 am
3 Kyle Suppa Todd Rego 7:14 am
4 Sj Maeng Richard Hattori 7:21 am

Paul Ogawa
Executive Director
Hawaii State Golf Association

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s