State Senate announces changes to committee lineup

Hawaii State Capitol

In a press release Friday, the Hawaii State Senate announced changes in their committee lineup to take effect on July 1, 2013.

The Committee on Tourism and Hawaiians Affairs (THA) will be split into two committees, Tourism (TSM) and Hawaiian Affairs (HWN).

Sen. Gilbert Kahele will chair the newly formed Committee on Tourism with Sen. Gilbert Keith-Agaran serving as vice-chair and Sen. Maile Shimabukuro will chair Hawaiian Affairs with Sen. Clayton Hee serving as vice-chair.

The Senate also announced changes to the vice-chairmanships of the Committees on Commerce and Consumer Protection (CPN) and Water and Land (WTL). Sen. Brian Taniguchi will serve as vice-chair of Commerce and Consumer Protection and Sen. Brickwood Galuteria will serve as the vice-chair of Water and Land.

Sen. Galuteria will remain the Senate Majority Leader.

In the press release, Sen. Galuteria issued the following statement:

“I am pleased with this new leadership lineup for the committees. Understanding the role of a chair makes my Senate Majority Leadership assignment more effective. I look forward to working with both Chairs Kahele and Shimabukuro in their new capacities and most importantly to continuing to work with my Senate colleagues to advance the priorities of the Senate Majority.”

Click here for the press release.

blog comments powered by Disqus