Rainbow Warriors Training Camp schedule released

HONOLULU – The University of Hawai’i football team begins fall camp Friday, Aug. 2 in preparation for 2013 season and the opener against Southern California. The three-week camp includes the final week at Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam.

Head coach Norm Chow begins his second year at the helm of the Rainbow Warriors and welcomes back 16 starters – seven on offense, eight on defense, and the team’s starting placekicker. UH finished 3-9 in Chow’s inaugural season as head coach but enters 2013 on a two-game win streak.

Practices at UH will take place at either the Clarence T.C. Ching Field or Cooke Field (grass practice field) and are open to the public. However, when the team moves to Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam, practices are only open to media and military personnel.

The Warriors enter their second year of the Mountain West Conference and were picked to finish sixth in the West Division which was announced at last week’s Media Days in Las Vegas. UH’s schedule includes two teams ranked in the preseason USA Today Coaches Poll – No. 24 USC and No. 25 Oregon State – incidentally the team’s first two opponents of the season.

Among the notable returnees include quarterback Taylor Graham, an Ohio State transfer who sat out last season due to NCAA transfer rules. The junior from Wheaton, Ohio enters fall camp as the No. 1 quarterback. Last year’s starter Sean Schroeder also returns and is coming off back surgery during the off-season which forced him to miss spring practices.

Three of the team’s top receivers return, including leading receiver Billy Ray Stutzmann, a senior from Honolulu, who has caught a pass in 23 consecutive games dating back to his freshman season. Others returning include receivers Chris Gant and Scott Harding, running back Joey Iosefa, and offensive linemen Ben Clarke, Dave Lefotu, and Mike Milovale.

A number of players with starting experience returns on the Warrior defense most notably senior defensive linemen Siasau Matagiese and Tavita Woodard, linebacker Art Laurel, and defensive back John Hardy-Tuliau.

Linemen Moses Samia and Beau Yap also returns in addition to the team’s two other starting linebackers Brenden Daley and Jerrol Garcia-Williams. Safety Marrell Jackson, the team’s leading tackler from a year ago, returns along with cornerbacks Ne’Quan Phillips, Tony Grimes, and Dee Maggitt.

All Practices At UH (Grass Field or Ching Field)
Friday, Aug. 2              10:00 a.m.
Saturday, Aug. 3         10:00 a.m.
Sunday, Aug. 4           1:45 p.m.
Monday, Aug. 5           10:00 a.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 6         10:00 a.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 7   10:00 a.m.
Thursday, Aug. 8        10:00 a.m.
Friday, Aug. 9              10:00 a.m.
Saturday, Aug. 10       10:00 a.m. & 5:00 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 11          OFF
Monday, Aug. 12         10:00 a.m. & 4:15 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 13        10:00 a.m.
Wednesday, Aug. 14  10:00 a.m.

All Practices At Hickam Field
Thursday, Aug. 15        9:15 a.m. & 4:40 p.m.
Friday, Aug. 16              5:00 p.m.
Saturday, Aug. 17         9:15 a.m. & 4:40 p.m.
Sunday, Aug. 18           10:40 a.m.
Monday, Aug. 19           2:00 p.m.
Tuesday, Aug. 20         11:00 a.m.

Courtesy: University of Hawai’i Athletics

blog comments powered by Disqus