‘Bows set to take the road to open Big West play against #10/15 UCSB

uh baseball

HONOLULU – The University of Hawai’i Rainbow Baseball team will start its second season in the Big West Conference this week, traveling to 10th-ranked UC Santa Barbara for a three-game series. The ‘Bows and Gauchos will play Friday, Mar. 28 at 3:00 p.m. PT (12:00 p.m. HT), Saturday, Mar. 29 at 2:00 p.m. PT (11:00 a.m. HT) and Sunday, Mar. 30 at 1:00 p.m. PT (10:00 a.m. HT).

Hawai’i is 13-7 all-time versus UCSB. The ‘Bows and Gauchos most recently played last year in UH’s inaugural Big West season where the ‘Bows won two of the three conference games they played. The Gauchos won the final game of the series which was played as a non-conference contest.

The ‘Bows enter conference play winners of five of their last six games. They took three of four games last weekend against Alabama-Birmingham, all in heroic late-game fashion. UH scored three runs in the ninth to win by one run in the opener, rallied to take game three in extra innings, and broke a 2-2 tie in the eighth inning before holding off UAB in the finale.

Scott Kuzminsky (3-2) was named Big West Pitcher of the Week after two stellar performances on the mound. He tossed a complete game against Nevada on Monday, pitching to the minimum number of hitters in a 1-0 win. This past Sunday he nearly went the distance again, tossing eight and two-thirds innings for the win.

Games 25-27
What: Hawai’i Rainbow Warriors at No. 10 UC Santa Barbara
When: Friday, Mar. 28 at 3:00 p.m. PT (12:00 p.m. HT), Saturday, Mar. 29 at 2:00 p.m. PT (11:00 a.m. HT), and Sunday, Mar. 30 at 1:00 p.m. PT (10:00 a.m. HT).
Where: Santa Barbara, Calif. (Caesar Uyesaka Stadium
Television: None
Streaming Video: None
Radio: NBC Sports Radio (AM 1500) will broadcast all the games with Scott Robbs calling the action.
Audio Webcast: http://espn1420am.com.
Live Stats: Live in-game stats are available at HawaiiAthletics.com.

*Courtesy of Hawai’i Athletics*

blog comments powered by Disqus