M4.8 earthquake strikes 70km west of Papua New Guinea

earthquake.usgs.gov
earthquake.usgs.gov

A M4.8 earthquake occurred 70km west of Panguna, Papua New Guinea.

There is NO tsunami threat to Hawaii.

USGS information:

M4.8 – 70km W of Panguna, Papua New Guinea
2014-03-29 04:26:52 UTC

Event Time:

  • 2014-03-29 04:26:52 UTC
  • 2014-03-29 14:26:52 UTC+10:00 at epicenter
  • 2014-03-28 18:26:52 UTC-10:00 system time

Location: 6.407°S 154.852°E depth=113.5km (70.5mi)

Nearby Cities:

  • 70km (43mi) W of Panguna, Papua New Guinea
  • 78km (48mi) WSW of Arawa, Papua New Guinea
  • 366km (227mi) SE of Kokopo, Papua New Guinea
  • 529km (329mi) E of Kimbe, Papua New Guinea
  • 654km (406mi) WNW of Honiara, Solomon Islands

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s