6.5-magnitude earthquake hits off coast of Tonga, NO tsunami threat

USGS
USGS

(CNN) — A 6.5-magnitude earthquake struck off the coast of Tonga on Saturday, the U.S. Geological Survey said.

The quake, which was six miles deep, hit 44 miles away from the capital of Nuku’alofa, according to the USGS.

There are no preliminary reports of damage or injury. No tsunami warning has been issued.

Tonga is an archipelago of 171 islands directly south of Western Samoa. Less than a third of the islands are inhabited.

It is the only remaining monarchy in the Pacific.

The Indo-Australian geologic plate goes above the Pacific plate there, making earthquakes fairly common occurrences in the area.


M6.5 – 71km NE of Nuku`alofa, Tonga

Event Time:

  • 2014-04-26 06:02:16 UTC
  • 2014-04-25 18:02:16 UTC-12:00 at epicenter
  • 2014-04-25 20:02:16 UTC-10:00 system time

Location:

  • 20.717°S 174.673°W depth=10.0km (6.2mi)

Nearby Cities:

  • 71km (44mi) NE of Nuku`alofa, Tonga
  • 777km (483mi) ESE of Suva, Fiji
  • 787km (489mi) SE of Lambasa, Fiji
  • 821km (510mi) SSW of Tafuna, American Samoa
  • 822km (511mi) SSW of Apia, Samoa

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s