M6.8 earthquake strikes south of Panama, NO tsunami threat

PTWC
PTWC

Tsunami Information Statement Number 1
NWS Pacific Tsunami Warning Center Ewa Beach HI
8:40 p,m, HST Mon May 12 2014

To – Civil Defense in the State of Hawaii

Subject – Tsunami Information Statement

This statement is for information only. No action required.

An earthquake has occurred with these preliminary parameters:

  • Origin time – 08:35 p.m. HST 12 May 2014
  • Coordinates – 7.0 North 82.4 West
  • Location – Off the coast of Central America
  • Magnitude – 6.8 Moment

Evaluation: Based on all available data a destructive Pacific-wide tsunami is not expected and there is no tsunami threat to Hawaii. Repeat. A destructive Pacific-wide tsunami is not expected and there is no tsunami threat to Hawaii.

This will be the only statement issued for this event unless additional data are received.


United States Geological Survey (USGS)
M6.8 – 105km SE of Punta de Burica, Panama
Earthquake location 7.249°N, 82.330°W

Event Time:

  • 2014-05-13 06:35:24 UTC
  • 2014-05-13 01:35:24 UTC-05:00 at epicenter
  • 2014-05-12 20:35:24 UTC-10:00 system time

Location:

  • 7.249°N 82.330°W depth=10.0km (6.2mi)

Nearby Cities:

  • 105km (65mi) SE of Punta de Burica, Panama
  • 124km (77mi) S of Pedregal, Panama
  • 128km (80mi) SSE of Puerto Armuelles, Panama
  • 130km (81mi) S of David, Panama
  • 354km (220mi) SSE of San Jose, Costa Rica
blog comments powered by Disqus