Twitter officially launched their new “mute” function for their website and mobile apps.
“In the same way you can turn on device notifications so you never miss a Tweet from your favorite users, you can now mute users you’d like to hear from less.”
If you use third party tools like Tweetdeck, you may have already experienced similar functionality.
The option allows a user to remove the tweets and retweets of another user from their timeline. It also doesn’t allow push and SMS alerts from the user that has been muted.
The muted user does not receive notification that they’ve been muted, and can still see and interact with your posts.
The process to unmute the user involves going to their profile and removing it.
The difference in both cases is the affected user could know what you did. With mute, the change would be hidden.