6.4 magnitude earthquake strikes off Vanuatu, NO tsunami threat to Hawaii

USGS
USGS

A magnitude 6.4 earthquake struck off the coast of Sola, Vanuatu.

There were no immediate reports of any casualties or damage, or any alert from the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center (PTWC).

The threshold for a Tsunami Information Bulletin from the PTWC is M6.5.

M6.4 – 85km WNW of Sola, Vanuatu

Earthquake location 13.577°S, 166.826°E

Event Time:

  • 2014-06-19 10:17:58 UTC
  • 2014-06-19 21:17:58 UTC+11:00 at epicenter
  • 2014-06-19 00:17:58 UTC-10:00 system time

Location:

  • 13.577°S 166.826°E depth=59.9km (37.2mi)

Nearby Cities:

  • 85km (53mi) WNW of Sola, Vanuatu
  • 219km (136mi) N of Luganville, Vanuatu
  • 487km (303mi) NNW of Port-Vila, Vanuatu
  • 813km (505mi) N of We, New Caledonia
  • 878km (546mi) ESE of Honiara, Solomon Islands

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s