Minors are no longer allowed to use tanning salons in Hawaii.
Gov. Neil Abercrombie signed a bill into law Wednesday that allows the Dept. of Health to impose fines of up to $250 for a first violation and $500 for subsequent violations by salon owners or operators.
Rep. Gregg Takayama (D-Pearl City, Waimalu, Pacific Palisades) introduced Bill HB611 because of the dangers youth can face from ultraviolet radiation.
“The use of indoor tanning devices are directly linked to skin cancer,” he said. “Studies show indoor ultraviolet tanners are 74 percent more likely to develop melanoma that those who do not tan indoors.”
“The dangers about tanning beds is it’s really trying to deliver the amount of UV light in a short amount of time, maybe as little as 10 minutes, than you would from exposure to the sun for hours on the beach,” Cory Chun of American Cancer Society previously told KHON2.
Hawaii is the 10th state to enact such a ban.