M6.3 strikes off Honshu, NO tsunami threat

Japan Meteorological Agency
Japan Meteorological Agency

A magnitude 6.3 earthquake struck off the east coast Honshu, Japan.

The epicenter of the quake was placed 96 miles east-northeast of Hachinohe.

There was no danger of a tsunami according to the Japan Meteorological Agency.

Event Time

  • 2014-10-11 02:35:46 UTC
  • 2014-10-11 12:35:46 UTC+10:00 at epicenter
  • 2014-10-10 16:35:46 UTC-10:00 system time

Location: 40.986°N 143.216°E depth=13.5km (8.4mi)

Nearby Cities:

  • 154km (96mi) ENE of Hachinohe, Japan
  • 160km (99mi) ENE of Misawa, Japan
  • 165km (103mi) SSE of Shizunai, Japan
  • 171km (106mi) E of Mutsu, Japan
  • 663km (412mi) NNE of Tokyo, Japan

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s