Souki to remain speaker when state House convenes in January

House Speaker Joseph M. Souki announced Wednesday the appointments of the House of Representatives Majority leadership lineup for the 28th Legislature.

The next legislative session begins Jan. 21, 2015.

“The team that we have formed represents the kind of talents and abilities that will best serve our residents and will address the issues facing our state,” said Speaker Souki. “We look forward to engaging in meaningful discussions with Governor-elect David Ige and his administration to continue to identify ideas and solutions to help Hawaii move forward.”

Members of the House Leadership are as follows:

  • Speaker of the House: Joseph M. Souki
  • Vice Speaker: John M. Mizuno
  • Majority Leader: Scott K. Saiki
  • Majority Floor Leader: Cindy Evans
  • Majority Whip: Ken Ito
  • Asst. Majority Leader: Chris Lee
  • Asst. Majority Leader: Roy M. Takumi
  • Speaker Emeritus: Calvin K.Y. Say

2015 House Committee Chairpersons:

Agriculture (AGR)

  • Clift Tsuji, Chair
  • Richard H.K. Onishi, Vice Chair

Economic Development & Business (EDB)

  • Derek S.K. Kawakami, Chair
  • Sam Kong, Vice Chair

Veterans, Military & International Affairs (VMI)

  • Romy M. Cachola, Chair
  • Ken Ito, Vice Chair

Tourism & Culture and the Arts (TCA)

  • Tom Brower, Chair
  • Takashi Ohno, Vice Chair

Labor & Public Employment (LAB)

  • Mark M. Nakashima, Chair
  • Jarrett Keohokalole, Vice Chair

Public Safety (PBS)

  • Gregg Takayama, Chair
  • Kyle T. Yamashita, Vice Chair

Transportation, (TRN)

  • Henry J.C. Aquino, Chair
  • Matthew LoPresti, Vice Chair

Health (HLT)

  • Della Au Belatti, Chair
  • Dee Morikawa, Vice Chair

Housing (HSG)

  • Mark J. Hashem, Chair
  • Richard Creagan, Vice Chair

Human Services (HUS)

  • Mele Carroll, Chair
  • Bertrand Kobayashi, Vice Chair

Energy & Environmental Protection (EEP)

  • Chris Lee, Chair
  • Nicole E. Lowen, Vice Chair

Ocean, Marine Resources & Hawaiian Affairs (OMH)

  • Kaniela Ing, Chair
  • Nicole E. Lowen, Vice Chair

Water & Land (WAL)

  • Ryan I. Yamane, Chair
  • Ty J.K. Cullen, Vice Chair

Education (EDN)

  • Roy M. Takumi, Chair
  • Takashi Ohno, Vice Chair

Higher Education, (HED)

  • Isaac W. Choy, Chair
  • Linda Ichiyama, Vice Chair

Finance (FIN)

  • Sylvia Luke, Chair
  • Scott Y. Nishimoto, Vice Chair

Legislative Management (LMG)

  • Scott Y. Nishimoto, Chair
  • John M. Mizuno, Vice Chair

Consumer Protection & Commerce (CPC)

  • Angus L.K. McKelvey, Chair
  • Justin H. Woodson, Vice Chair

Judiciary (JUD)

  • Karl Rhoads, Chair
  • Joy San Buenaventura, Vice Chair

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s