M6.6 earthquake strikes near Tobelo, Indonesia

PTWC
PTWC

TSUNAMI INFORMATION STATEMENT NUMBER 1
NWS PACIFIC TSUNAMI WARNING CENTER EWA BEACH HI
144 AM HST SUN DEC 21 2014

TO – EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT IN THE STATE OF HAWAII

SUBJECT – TSUNAMI INFORMATION STATEMENT

THIS STATEMENT IS FOR INFORMATION ONLY. NO ACTION REQUIRED.

AN EARTHQUAKE HAS OCCURRED WITH THESE PRELIMINARY PARAMETERS

  • ORIGIN TIME – 0134 AM HST 21 DEC 2014
  • COORDINATES – 2.2 NORTH 126.8 EAST
  • LOCATION – MOLUCCA SEA
  • MAGNITUDE – 6.6 MOMENT

EVALUATION

BASED ON ALL AVAILABLE DATA A DESTRUCTIVE PACIFIC-WIDE TSUNAMI IS NOT EXPECTED AND THERE IS NO TSUNAMI THREAT TO HAWAII. REPEAT. A DESTRUCTIVE PACIFIC-WIDE TSUNAMI IS NOT EXPECTED AND THERE IS NO TSUNAMI THREAT TO HAWAII.

THIS WILL BE THE ONLY STATEMENT ISSUED FOR THIS EVENT UNLESS ADDITIONAL DATA ARE RECEIVED.


Event Time

  • 2014-12-21 11:34:14 UTC
  • 2014-12-21 19:34:14 UTC+08:00 at epicenter
  • 2014-12-21 01:34:14 UTC-10:00 system time

Location: 2.126°N 126.651°E depth=54.6km (34.0mi)

Nearby Cities

  • 157km (98mi) WNW of Tobelo, Indonesia
  • 168km (104mi) NNW of Kota Ternate, Indonesia
  • 168km (104mi) NNW of Ternate, Indonesia
  • 179km (111mi) ENE of Bitung, Indonesia
  • 1042km (647mi) WSW of Koror Town, Palau
PTWC
PTWC

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s