NCAA baseball tournament field set with 7 Hawaii-born players

Arkansas' Rick Nomura jumps after scoring against Tennessee in the ninth inning of a Southeastern Conference tournament college baseball elimination game in Hoover, Ala., Tuesday, May 19, 2015. Arkansas won 2-1. (Mark Almond. via AP)

UCLA is the No. 1 seed in the NCAA baseball tournament for the first time.

The Division I Baseball Committee on Monday made the Pac-12 champion Bruins (42-14) the top seed over Southeastern Conference regular-season champion LSU (48-10).

The other six national seeds, in order, are: Louisville, Florida, Miami, Illinois, TCU and Missouri State.

The tournament opens Friday with 16 four-team, double-elimination regionals. Best-of-three super regionals are next week, with those winners moving to the College World Series in Omaha.

This is the third time since 2010 UCLA has earned a national seed. UCLA, which lost two of three at Oregon this past weekend, starts the tournament in Los Angeles against Cal State Bakersfield. Maryland and Mississippi also are in the Bruins’ regional.

CLICK HERE to view NCAA Tournament Bracket

A total of five teams featuring Hawaii high school graduates on their roster will be playing in the regional round.

Oregon State:
KJ Harrison – Punahou
Christian Donahue – Iolani

Mark Karaviotis – Maui

Kolten Yamaguchi – Konawaena
Bo Coolen – Punahou

Oklahoma State:
Tim Arakawa – Moanalua

Rick Nomura – Punahou

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s