Hawaii Surf Soccer Club has 16 members sign w/ colleges

Hawaii Surf Soccer Club

The Hawaii Surf Soccer Club had 16 members sign to play college soccer Wednesday morning at the 2016 National Letter of Intent Signing Day.

Tia Furuta
Tia Furuta

Majority of the girls were teammates on Hawaii Surf since 2006 under the coaching staff of Shawn Kuroda, Kirk Adams and Michelle Pinacate and are now finishing up their youth careers together. Five out of the eight original members, signed their letter of intent at the Sheraton Waikiki apart of the Pacific Island Athletic Alliance Spring NSD Event.

The following is a list of Hawaii Surf’s original members from 2006 to present that signed Wednesday morning:

  • Tia Furuta – Mililani – University of Hawaii
  • Kyllie Ann Yasutake – Punahou – Oregon State
  • Cailla Fabro – Pearl City – Idaho State
  • Nahenahe Damas – Myron B. Thompson – Highline CC
  • Kaylie Matsunami – Aiea – Pacific or Occidental

The following is a list of additional Hawaii Surf members that signed Wednesday morning:

  • Breanne Ihara – Hawaii Baptist – Western Oregon
  • Eden Kawabe – Mililani – U of North Carolina
  • Taiana Tolleson – Konawaena – Vanderbilt University
  • Kasey Isobe – Mililani – Portland State
  • Tamera Mikamura – Aiea – Portland or Eastern Oregon
  • Kailana Ka`eo – Mililani – U of St Mary’s, California
  • Alisha Kahele-Manners – Kamehameha – U of Rhode Island
  • Sara Olanda – Aiea – Highline CC
  • Megan Inouye-Ng – Moanalua – Pacific University
  • Brittney Maze – Aiea – Azusa Pacific
  • Aaliyah Fesili – Punahou – Sacramento State

Hawaii Surf Soccer Club has numerous achievements under their belt that include being undefeated against Hawaii competition for the past 12 years. They are the only team to be invited to one of the toughest tournaments in the country, the Nike Manchester Premier Cup Tournament in Oregon, where only the top 20 teams in the country can compete. Hawaii Surf also claimed the 2015 Surf Cup Championship, beating out about 20 other Hawaii teams.

A number of former Hawaii Surf members have also gone on to play college soccer like Raisa Strom Okimoto of the University of Hawaii, Cierra Hamilton and Coby Yoshimura of Peninsula College and Taylor Kuroda of the University of Oregon.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s