Ganot Selected As Finalist Of Several National Coaching Awards

Eran Ganot // Hawaii Athletics

Fresh off a program-best 28-win season and NCAA Tournament appearance, University of Hawai’i men’s basketball head coach Eran Ganot was selected as a finalist for several national coach of the year awards.

The first-year Rainbow Warriors coach is a finalist for three awards given by, most notably the Jim Phelan Award as the nation’s top Division I head coach. Ganot is one of 21 finalists for the award, which is named in honor of the former Mount Saint Mary’s University coach who amassed 830 wins in 49 years of coaching.

In addition, Ganot is one of 21 finalists for the Hugh Durham Award presented annually to the nation’s top mid-major coach and named in honor of the famed coach who led two different programs to the Final Four (Florida State in 1972 and Georgia in 1983). Finally, Ganot is one of 10 finalists for the Joe B. Hall Award given annually to the nation’s top Division I rookie head coach. The award is named in honor of the great University of Kentucky head coach who won 297 games and led the Wildcats to a national championship in 1978.

Ganot is also one of six finalists for the Red Auerbach College Coach of the Year Award, given annually to the nation’s top Jewish college coach as voted on by the members of the Jewish Coaches Association (JCA).

All four awards will be announced this weekend in Houston, Texas, site of the NCAA Final Four.

In his first season with the Rainbow Warriors, Ganot, 34, was the third-youngest head coach to lead his team to the NCAA Tournament. Under his leadership, UH won its first-ever tournament game, a 77-66 victory over California, in a first round match-up in Spokane, Wash. The Tenafly, N.J., native led the ‘Bows to both the Big West regular season and tournament titles, a first since 2002, and was selected as the Big West’s Coach of the Year.

Jim Phelan Award (Nation’s Top Division I Coach) Finalists
Dana Altman, Oregon
Chris Beard, Little Rock
Tony Bennett, Virginia
Tom Crean, Indiana
Steve Fisher, San Diego State
Eran Ganot, Hawai’i
Greg Gard, Wisconsin
Bob Huggins, West Virginia
Tom Izzo, Michigan State
James Jones, Yale
Billy Kennedy, Texas A&M
Jim Larranaga, Miami
Chris Mack, Xavier
Frank Martin, South Carolina
Archie Miller, Dayton
King Rice, Monmouth
Kelvin Sampson, Houston
Bill Self, Kansas
Brad Underwood, Stephen F. Austin
Roy Williams, North Carolina
Jay Wright, Villanova

Hugh Durham Award (Nation’s Top Mid-Major Coach) Finalists
Chris Beard, Little Rock
Randy Bennett, Saint Mary’s
Ken Burmeister, Incarnate Word
Jon Coffman, IFPW
Bryce Drew, Valparaiso
Bill Evans, Idaho State
Dana Ford, Tennessee State
Eran Ganot, Hawai’i
Murray Garvin, South Carolina State
Mitch Henderson, Princeton
James Jones, Yale
Kevin Keatts, UNCW
Dan Majerle, Grand Canyon
Matt McCall, Chattanooga
Nick McDevitt, UNC Asheville
Marvin Menzies, New Mexico State
Joe Mihalich, Hofstra
Steve Piekel, Stony Brook
King Rice, Monmouth
Marty Simmons, Evansville
Brad Underwood, Stephen F. Austin

Joe B. Hall Award (Nation’s Top Division I Rookie Coach) Finalists
Chris Beard, Little Rock
Linc Darner, Green Bay
Nathan Davis, Bucknell
Steve Forbes, ETSU
Eran Ganot, Hawai’i
Eric Konkol, Louisiana Tech
Matt McCall, Chattanooga
Matt McMahon, Murray State
Nate Oats, Buffalo
Montez Robinson, Alcorn State

Red Auerbach Award (Nation’s Top Jewish Coach) Finalists
Keith Dambrot, Akron
Steve DeMeo, Northwest Florida State College
Eran Ganot, Hawai’i
Ryan Marks, St. Francis
Bob Pietrack, Fort Lewis College
Josh Schertz, Lincoln Memorial

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s