Saint Louis QB Tagovailoa earns historic invite to Elite11 Finals QB Camp

Tua Tagovailoa // Photo Courtesy: @Elite11

Hawaii history was made on the gridiron Sunday, as Saint Louis Class of 2017 quarterback Tua Tagovailoa received an invite to Nike’s Elite-11 Finals Quarterback Camp, becoming the first QB from Hawaii to ever reach the prestigious event.

Tagovailoa, the reigning Cover2 Kaulukukui Award winner as the state’s offensive player of the year, who verbally committed to Alabama at the beginning of the month on KHON2, will take part in the camp June 3-5 in Los Angeles where he will compete with several highly-ranked quarterbacks for a spot in the opening finals in Beaverton, Oregon which takes place July 5-10.

Tua Tagovailoa commited to Alabama on the KHON2 News with Sports Director Rob DeMello on May 2nd, 2016
Tua Tagovailoa commited to Alabama on the KHON2 News with Sports Director Rob DeMello on May 2nd, 2016

The Elite 11 is the nation’s premier and original quarterback competition for high school quarterbacks across the nation.

Elite 11 was founded in 1999 by Andy Bark and continues to be run by his company, Student Sports Inc.

Over the years, 12 to 24 of the nation’s top quarterbacks have been selected to attend the Elite 11 Finals from 6 to 8 regional competitions held across the country, where over 400 quarterbacks compete and are evaluated. Tagovailoa’s regional took place in Oakland.

Since 2013, the Elite 11 has been held at Nike World Headquarters in Beaverton in conjunction with The Opening. Prior to 2012 the Elite 11 Finals were held across various sites in Southern California.

The head coach of the Elite 11 is former Fresno State and Baltimore Ravens Super Bowl winning quarterback Trent Dilfer, assisted by UTEP alum Jordan Palmer, Dennis Gile, George Whitfield Jr., Kerry Joseph, Adam Tafralis, Charlie Frye, Craig Nall and Matt James. The General Manager and President is Student Sports’ Brian Stumpf.

Notable Elite 11 Finals alumni include Andrew Luck, Matthew Stafford, Jameis Winston, Teddy Bridgewater, Matt Leinart, Geno Smith, Mark Sanchez, Tim Tebow, Vince Young, Kyle Orton and Troy Smith.


Who: The Elite 11 Finals is intended for top level rising senior quarterbacks (Class of 2017). The top Class of 2017 signal callers will be selected for The Elite 11 Finals from the Elite 11 Regionals.

What: The Elite 11 Quarterback Finals will bring together top performers from the the 2016 Elite 11 Regionals to receive advanced, one-on-one quarterback instruction in a highly competitive setting. The Elite 11 Finals will span three days and include on-field drills, routes-on-air, classroom instruction and off-field development. The Elite 11 will be named at the conclusion of The Elite 11 Finals and will receive an invite to The Opening Finals.

When: The Elite 11 Finals will be held in June 3-5, 2016.

Where: The Elite 11 Finals will be held in Los Angeles.

History: 10 of the past 11 quarterbacks to have won the Heisman Trophy attended the Elite 11 Finals or an Elite 11 Regional. 34 of the top 44 NFL passers in 2015 attended the Elite 11 Finals or an Elite 11 Regional.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s