Facebook users receive shock to find out they had ‘died’

In this June 11, 2014, file photo, a man walks past a mural in an office on the Facebook campus in Menlo Park, Calif. Some Facebook users received an unsettling shock Friday, Nov. 11, 2016, when an unexplained glitch caused the social networking service to post a notice that implied they were dead. (AP Photo/Jeff Chiu, File)
In this June 11, 2014, file photo, a man walks past a mural in an office on the Facebook campus in Menlo Park, Calif. Some Facebook users received an unsettling shock Friday, Nov. 11, 2016, when an unexplained glitch caused the social networking service to post a notice that implied they were dead. (AP Photo/Jeff Chiu, File)

SAN FRANCISCO (AP) — Some Facebook users received an unsettling shock Friday, when an unexplained glitch caused the social networking service to post a notice that implied they were dead.

A number of Facebook users reported that their profile page on the social network was topped with a message that referred to them by name – as if they were gone – while linking to a feature that “memorializes” the page of someone who has died. The message said Facebook hoped the users’ loved ones would find comfort in seeing posts that others shared about them.

Even Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg’s page had the death notice for a short time on Friday. But messages had disappeared by midday California time.

“This was a terrible error that we have now fixed,” Facebook said in a statement. The company declined to say what caused the problem or how many users were affected. But the statement added, “We are very sorry that this happened and we worked as quickly as possible to fix it.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s