Hilo’s Yada to make LPGA rookie season debut at LOTTE Championship this week

Britney Yada

For the sixth consecutive season and ninth time in 12 years, the LPGA will take over the west side of Oahu this week with the LOTTE Championship at Ko Olina Golf Club.

The eighth of 34 events this LPGA season will feature two homegrown golfers in the field: 2014 event champion Honolulu’s Michelle Wie and 2017 tour rookie Britney Yada of Hilo.

Yada, 26, is a Waiakea graduate who played collegiately at Portland State University until 2013.

She made her LPGA debut last May, missing the cut at the Kingsmill Championship. However, a 57th-place finish on the Symetra Tour earned her partial status on the LPGA in 2017.

In storybook fashion, Yada will make her debut as a tour rookie Wednesday at Ko Olina.

Britney Yada

“I’m excited about the opportunity to play at home, have all my family here watching and friends, and eat good food,” said Yada.

“It’s just nice to be home. I was really hoping to get into this one as my first one, and I was the last one in, I think. I think I was the last one in, so maybe it was meant to be, I don’t know? So I’ve been very excited and just grateful for the opportunity,” she added.

Since turning professional, Yada has won seven times on the Cactus Tour, an Arizona-based mini-tour, including three times in 2016.

The LPGA will reshuffle the partial qualifiers after the Volunteers of America Texas Shootout concludes on April 30.

If she makes the cut this weekend, Yada will be granted more opportunities in future events this season, but says she doesn’t feel any overwhelming pressure heading into the tournament.

“After I moved away from Hawaii and I came back, I have learned to just enjoy being here,” she said. “Since I’m not here anymore, I’m able to take in the scenery and just feel comfortable here, and I think if I just enjoy myself and let the golf take care of itself, if I practice hard enough this week, it will all be okay.”

Click here for more information on the 2017 LOTTE Championship.

Final Field

Marina Alex
Minjee Lee
Beth Allen
Mirim Lee
Brittany Altomare
Amelia Lewis
Amy Anderson
Stacy Lewis
Aditi Ashok
Xiyu Lin
Laetitia Beck
Brittany Lincicome
Brittany Benvenuto
Pernilla Lindberg
Ashleigh Buhai
Gaby Lopez
Katie Burnett
Lee Lopez
Dori Carter
Mo Martin
Sandra Changkija
Ally McDonald
Ssu-Chia Cheng
Stephanie Meadow
Peiyun Chien
Wichanee Meechai
Chella Choi
Ai Miyazato
Hye Jin Choi * (a)
Mika Miyazato
In Gee Chun
Giulia Molinaro
Karen Chung
Becky Morgan
Carlota Ciganda
Belen Mozo
Cydney Clanton
Azahara Munoz
Holly Clyburn
Haru Nomura
Jenny Coleman
Su Oh
Paula Creamer
Therese O’Hara
Daniela Darquea
Ryann O’Toole
Perrine Delacour
Brooke Pancake
Lindy Duncan
Annie Park
Austin Ernst
Hee Young Park
Laura Gonzalez Escallon
Inbee Park
Simin Feng
Jane Park
Dana Finkelstein
Sung Hyun Park
Sandra Gal
Seong Weon Park *
Jaye Marie Green
Sadena Parks
Casey Grice
Maria Parra
Regan De Guzman
Katherine Perry
Jennifer Ha
Pornanong Phatlum
Mina Harigae
Morgan Pressel
Nasa Hataoka
Beatriz Recari
Caroline Hedwall
Paula Reto
Brooke M. Henderson
Demi Runas
Celine Herbin
So Yeon Ryu
Dani Holmqvist
Madelene Sagstrom
Wei-Ling Hsu
Lizette Salas
Mi Jung Hur
Sherman Santiwiwatthanaphong
Vicky Hurst
Hanule Seo #
Su-Yeon Jang *  Eun Jeong Seong # (a)
Eun-Hee Ji
Jodi Ewart Shadoff
Tiffany Joh
Alena Sharp
Ariya Jutanugarn
Madeleine Sheils
Moriya Jutanugarn
Jenny Shin
Danielle Kang
Kelly Shon
Kim Kaufman
Sarah Jane Smith
Cristie Kerr
Jennifer Song
Megan Khang
Nontaya Srisawang
Christina Kim
Mariah Stackhouse
Hyo Joo Kim
Angela Stanford
In-Kyung Kim
Marissa Steen
Lauren Kim
Jackie Stoelting
Hae Rym Kim *
Thidapa Suwannapura
Katherine Kirk
Kris Tamulis
Joanna Klatten
Kelly Tan
Lydia Ko
Pannarat Thanapolboonyaras
P.K. Kongkraphan
Emily Tubert
Olafia Kristinsdottir
Ayako Uehara
Min Seo Kwak
Michelle Wie
Brittany Lang
Cheyenne Woods
Nicole Broch Larsen
Britney Yada
Bronte Law
Suzuka Yamaguchi * (a)
Maude-Aimee Leblanc
Jing Yan
Alison Lee
Amy Yang
Ilhee Lee
Julie Yang
Jeong Eun Lee
Angel Yin
Mi Hyang Lee
Sakura Yokomine
Min Lee
Pavarisa Yoktuan
* Sponsor invite   
(a) Amateur   
# Qualifier 

Jessy Tang
Prima Thammaraks
Min-G Kim
Cindy LaCrosse
Ji Young Oh
Augusta James
Emily Collins
Caroline Inglis
Brianna Do
Haeji Kang
Benyapa Niphatsophon
Alejandra Llaneza
Hannah Burke
Celine Boutier
Krista Puisite
Maria McBride

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s