Waianae Tigers win Pop Warner Division II Jr. Pee Wee Championship

(Photo by Gerardo Mora / IPAPHOTO.COM for POP WARNER)

It’s said to be a first for a pee wee football team from Hawaii.

On Friday, the Waianae Tigers won the Division II Jr. Pee Wee Championship at the 2017 Pop Warner Super Bowl.

They went undefeated throughout the championship, beating the Western Branch Jaguars and Merrillville Pirates before their final 16-8 victory against the Creeks Outlaws from Jacksonville, Fla.

Head coach James “Jimbo” Joseph says this is a proud moment for Hawaii athletes.

“Our island is actually surrounded by water. It’s surrounded by a lot of talent and athletes there. We’ve just got to keep representing, guys, because when we’re out here and we play, these local boys, they’re strong. They’re stronger,” he said.

The Tigers have made it to the Pop Warner Super Bowl four times under the leadership of three generations of the Joseph family.

Another team from Hawaii, the Kaneohe Knights finished third in the Division I Pee Wee Championship.

The Pop Warner Super Bowl is divided into 64 teams competing for National Championships in two divisions and five age/weight ranges (Jr. Pee Wee, Pee Wee, Jr. Varsity, Varsity, and Unlimited).

The games took place this week at the ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Walt Disney World Resort in Florida.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s